The Beginning

Welcome to Forgetti Spaghetti. One mom’s attempt to conquer her world. A pro photographer by trade, I blog often about that part of my world. I’ve been wanting to share my other experiences, document them and such, but didn’t feel that my other blog was the right place.  And thus, Forgetti Spaghetti was born.

Now you may be wondering where the name came from. My family consists of my husband, Jon, our two kids C and E, ages 2 and 1. We eat a lot of pasta.  Spaghetti, penne, ziti, basically we keep a massive supply of whole wheat pasta in the pantry.  Then we mix whatever we find in it.  Tuna pasta-my favorite.  Made with butter, milk or cream, tomatoes, and frying it all then mixing with pasta.  Yum…but not so healthy.  Lots of spaghetti with meat sauce, usually not lean, but instead what was on sale.  Basically…we are going to be saying goodbye to that lifestyle.  Forget it and embrace the present.

But there’s more to it than that.

Over the course of the past two years we have become increasingly aware of what food is going into our bodies. When C was born, she had a milk protein intolerance. By 9 months, she had outgrown it, and dairy became the main staple of her diet. Followed by meat and then fruit.  For a short period of time, I cut all dairy, including any processed food with dairy protein in it, out of my diet.  I felt good, but it was so hard. So when I didn’t have to do it anymore, I didn’t.

15 months after C was born, E came along.  I thought I knew what to expect, but I was wrong.  Not only did he have a milk protein intolerance, but a soy problem too.  And even after I cut all that out of my diet, he was still reacting to something.  Eventually, after trying so many things, he ended up on neocate formula, where all of the proteins are actuallly broken down enough that his body doesn’t have to do it.  Fast forward past being tube-fed, being on many different medicine combinations to control his GERD, and getting ear tubes and lacrimal duct stints, and we are here.  Where he is almost 12 months old, wanting to eat what we are eating.  And we are at a loss what we can actually give him.  Through experimentation, we know he still cannot have dairy or soy.  Dairy is in a lot.  Soy is in pretty much everything else.  We started looking at our own diets again.  Through a lot of label reading, we have discovered that not only are we are addicted to sugar, but we eat way too many processed foods with unpronounceable ingredients.  We feed too much of that to our daughter, and would have started doing so to our son as well.  We are now at a point where we are ready to make a drastic change.  It’s not fair to any of us to feed E a healthy diet and not eat that way ourselves.  We have researched a lot of healthy ways of living, and have decided to change our eating habits to a whole foods diet.  We are at the beginning.  Of not really knowing what we are doing.  Of trying to sift through the research out there.  Of desperately wanting to change, but not knowing how.  We are still going forward.

And so here I am.  At the beginning.  And wanting to take this journey public, so that others out there know they aren’t alone, and it IS confusing, but the best thing you can do is move forward.  I love the movie “Meet The Robinsons.”  Walt Disney’s famous quote is the theme for that movie.  “Keep moving forward.”  That’s our mantra here as well.  So here we go!

Leave a Reply

