Recipe >> Amazing Black Bean Burgers

I couldn’t wait to share this recipe! I love just winging it in the kitchen…it’s always fun to see what happens. I’m sitting here eating these as we speak. As is my 2 year old, and my 1 year old is downing it. He has eaten a whole, adult size burger and is dancing in his high chair. I’m taking that response as a couple of great reviews.

Here’s how to make these amazing black bean burgers. What you need:

1 can black beans, rinsed and drained
1/2 cup uncooked quinoa, cooked (or 1 cup, and eat the other half as a side, which is what I did…because I didn’t know how much I needed)
1/4-1/2 cup quinoa flakes (I got these at my local coop/health food store, Ancient Harvest brand)

20120223-185231.jpg
1 zucchini, cut into good sized chunks
1/2 red bell pepper, chopped
1/2 onion, chopped
3 cloves garlic, chopped
Olive oil

In a pan, cook the pepper, onion, and garlic until they are soft enough to blend. If you don’t want to fry, you could steam or cook them another way, but fying makes the burgers super yummy. I cooked my quinoa in the rice cooker, and steamed the zucchini above that until it was soft as well. Use as much or as little of each veggie as you want! Take the black beans, veggies, and garlic and blend them in a food processor (I used my tiny mini black and decker, three batches, and it worked fine) until some of it is pureed, and some of it is chunky bits of beans and veggies. Yum. Put in a bowl and mix in the quinoa. Next add quinoa flakes until the mixture isn’t as wet. It will still be sticky, but that is good. It will dry out more as it cooks, so it needs to be a tad wet and sticky or it will fall apart. Add any spices you want. I used pepper, some hot pepper flakes, rosemary, and a little salt. Patty up the “burgers” and stick them in the fridge so they can set for about 15 minutes. Fry them on the stove or bake them in the oven until hot. If you bake, turn them carefully after about 5-10 minutes. I fried them, so they got nice and crispy on the outside, but frying isn’t the best thing for you. These would cook ok on the grill if you put foil over the slots of the grill. A good summer food, too. C had hers with a whole wheat bun, but E and I ate them naked. And they were so good either way!

I topped it with Trader Joes Red Pepper Spread with Eggplant and Garlic. It has sugar in it, which I’m trying to avoid, but it is so delicious on these burgers! A little goes a long way too, so I figured it was ok. 😉

20120223-185442.jpg

20120223-185454.jpg

Leave a Reply

