Well…I guess I'm a naughty blogger

I have a lot of things going on…a lot of writing.  I have this, a personal blog, a book reviewer blog, a photography business and blog, and a family history blog.  Plus I am knee deep in writing a book.  So yeah.

Somehow that seems like so much…but still a poor excuse for letting two and a half months go by without posting.

We are still on the path to eating awesomely.  I have been struggling a lot with sugar lately.  Somehow it crept back into my life, and I am just not willing enough to break my addiction.  I think it is tied to eating dairy.  But right now, it is more important to me to keep at the green stuff, which I am also slacking on.

I’ve been eating a lot of wraps.  I can’t get enough!  I just take a 100% whole wheat tortilla, put in black beans, tomatoes and avocado.  Usually I sprinkle a little cheese in there, it makes the other flavors stand out.  It is so amazingly good.  So easy to make, and makes me feel healthy.

I’ve also started running.  It is amazing to me that I am doing this.  I have always hated running…so so so much.  But the reason is that I always thought I had to just keep running until I couldn’t.  Then feel like a failure, wheeze and gasp, collapse on the nearest couch, and not try again for a few years.  Turns out I was doing it all wrong!  I’ve been using the Couch 2 5k program and I am halfway through it.  I’ve gotten to the point where I am running half of the time, walking half of the time.  At the beginning, I was running 1/4 of the time, and it takes about 30 minutes.  I usually go about 2 miles altogether.  And this Saturday, I am running in my first race!  It is a 3k, farther than I’ve ever run.  I won’t have my headphones, I won’t be alone, I won’t be on my nice, scenic, mostly flat paved trail either.  I’ll be on the street, with a healthy incline for most of the race.  So I might die trying.  But I really really want to make it the whole way without walking!  So far the farthest I have run is 3 minutes without stopping…tomorrow I am going for 5.  The whole 2 mile race, if I am jogging/running the whole thing, should take 15-20 minutes…I’m guessing.  So we’ll see how I do!

Leave a Reply

