Day Two. 29 to go.

I’m in the middle of day two.  Chicken is roasting.  I know that will help with tonight and tomorrow.  Because the kids haven’t been letting me sleep this week, JD let me go back to bed this morning when he got up, and I slept until almost 11am!  I missed breakfast.  Which is vitally important or something like that.  So for lunch (because JD forgot to take his leftovers to work last night…like always),  we split the leftovers and each had a steamed egg and half a green pepper.  He had some spinach, but I had a bunch last night so I passed on that.  Now I’m drinking my coffee with a touch of coconut milk (mostly for the nutrients in the coconut milk) and I am so glad we decided to forgo the “no coffee after noon” rule.  We decided no coffee 8 hours before bed was better.  We have long days, and two kids, and sometimes its that extra cup that really helps us move.  This Whole30 thing is hard, but I already feel better.  Ok, so I’m a little cranky, but it’s not as bad as I thought it was going to be.  It would help if I wasn’t home all the time.  There’s a lot of food in this house that we can’t eat, and we can’t change that.  Today I want bread.  A big loaf of sourdough or french bread with garlic and lots of yummy spices.  I would eat a whole loaf right now.  I want to.  I am very thankful for this blog.  It helps me know I have a place to vent and a distraction from my cravings.

healthy snack ideasFor a snack yesterday, I had a handful of cashews and a handful of pomegranate seeds.  SO good together.  I’m not a big nut fan, I could live my life without eating them at all, but in this thirty day period I think I am going to need something acceptable to snack on.  I allow myself one snack a day, basically a mini-meal.  If the kids are eating a snack, and I want what they are eating, it helps to allow myself this so I won’t do something off-program.  It has to have protein in it, and it would be good if it had veggies too.  I’d like to find a kind of dressing/dip I could make for carrots and green peppers that was dairy free and had good fat in it.  I would enjoy that.  That’s on my list for today.

Last night I had a salad because I didn’t know what else to make.  All of our meat was frozen, I wasn’t thinking ahead I guess.  I planned out a meal a day, but didn’t think about when it was going to be just the kids and me.  I like to fly by the seat of my pants, and planning things out is hard for me.  So I opened a can of tuna, and split it between us three.  I had a lot of spinach, cut up some tomato and avocado and at that on my salad.  I should have put some sunflower seeds on there too, and I didn’t use oil or vinegar.  I am looking forward to making some dressing and some pesto.  Maybe I can make a good dressing and/or dip from avocado.  Yum!  I need some flavor!  I didn’t like the tuna with the avocado or with the spinach.  Next time I will eat it on the side.  But I got my protein and my fat and my veggies, and I drank hot green tea with it.  The kids had the same minus the spinach and plus some triscuits.  C had some more pomegranate.  She loves them, but E only throws them across the room.

Tomorrow I am making soup…lots of chicken and onions and carrots.  Not sure what else I could put in there yet.  Any ideas?

Leave a Reply

