An Issue I can't run away from

For a few months now, I’ve been dealing with a strange issue.  It has taken a backseat to my kids and JD’s weird neuro whatever that has been going on, so I haven’t really dealt with it.  It seems to be getting worse, so I’m writing about it.  I don’t know why, but it feels good to acknowledge it.

Every once in awhile my stomach gets rock hard, and not in a good way.  So completely bloated and then I get intense, way-worse-than-labor-contractions stomach cramps.  My intestines hate me.  Other things happen too, but I won’t go into the gory details.  Basically, it isn’t good, and I feel godawful sick for the better part of a day or two.  But it definitely isn’t some sort of virus, and it has been recurring at least once a week for months.  Getting worse.

I haven’t been able to track down the culprit, I’m thinking that it probably isn’t just one thing.  That it isn’t necessarily a certain food, but something wrong with me that reacting to a group of foods.  The best I felt was when we did the Whole30 plan for about three weeks.  We didn’t make it to the end, and we didn’t switch to eating paleo.  Instead, we went back to eating horribly because it is so much cheaper.  Not nutritionally cheaper.  I think we got really frustrated, because it’s one thing to buy more produce and to not buy processed foods.  It’s a whole nother thing to replace flour with coconut and almond flours, to only use raw honey and real syrup as sweeteners in baking, and to eat a lot more meat and produce, taking out grains, beans, dairy, sugar, yada yada.  But I know that is what I need to do.  I’m at a point where I just don’t know how to do it all.  I can never think of a good recipe, especially that my kids will eat.  I would love to get them off gluten and processed foods as well and make a lot more fun stuff together.  But it is SO expensive to bake things!

Then I get really frustrated and I give up.  But then I feel like I have today, which I had popcorn and a few cookies last night….not sure what it was.  I had a lot of sugar over Thanksgiving, and never had an issue.  I even made a delectable salted caramel apple pie that was amazing, and way too sweet.  Nothing really happened to me.  Maybe a day of discomfort, but nothing like it usually is.  The thing is, I could go to a doctor, and they could diagnose me with something weird like irritable bowel syndrome, Crohn’s, celiac disease, or nothing at all….and the result would be the same.  I don’t want medicine.  I want to fix me with food because I am 100% positive that would work.  Wish my health insurance would pay for it!

Also, I ran a couple weeks ago, but haven’t since.  My ankle felt pretty good, but I almost twisted it AGAIN and I think my shoes must be out for me!  We don’t really live in the best neighborhood, and JD has been gone during all the daylight hours, so I don’t really have a chance to run right now.  I’m sure that would probably help too.  It’s frustrating to want so desperately to do things differently, and not have the resources and ability to do it.  I’m having one of THOSE days.

Leave a Reply

