That thing called faith.

Awhile back, I wrote about faith.  I felt like I was missing something, like faith was hard to grasp ahold of.  Both the concept and the practice of it were abstract to me.

I’ve finally gotten to a place where I understand what faith is…what God was teaching me all these months, these hard, cold, winter months of waiting and pleading and wondering.  I didn’t even know what I was learning.  I mean, I knew that my faith was growing, and that by sowing seeds of faith, I would reap.  But I was concentrating more on the direct lessons I was learning.

All of a sudden, I realized, that when I wrote this post a few months ago, I was searching.  And God knew that.  He taught me something and I didn’t even know it was happening.  Now I can see that knowing where my faith comes from and what it means to me is the foundation for this huge thing we are doing.

My faith isn’t just about believing hard enough.  It’s about knowing God’s character, and knowing that He wants to take care of me.  He wants to provide for my family, to bless us, and to see us obedient.  God is good!  The more I know and experience about God, the easier it is to trust Him.  Faith, for me, is about trust, not belief.  My belief is my salvation, and the bridge that takes me to a real relationship with Jesus.  Faith takes me, step by step, on the path of His will.   I trust God’s character, and his steadfast love.  His desire to know us, and to be intimate with us.  His desire to see the kingdom come together on the earth.

We leave in two weeks to go to Oregon.  Things are starting to come together.  Jon heard about a job (doing exactly what he does now, and loves), and applied, had an interview, and got the job within a week.  We have a place to stay in April while we look for a home.  But there is a lot still up in the air, and we are acting on faith a lot right now.

As you read this, we ask that you support us in prayer.  And if you’d like to be added to our newsletter list and get specific updates and prayer requests, send us an email to jkdommel47@gmail(dot)com.  Thanks for reading, I truly feel blessed to have people that care about my family and me, and want to know what is happening with us!

Leave a Reply

