Grow grow grow……please?

Update on the plants!  Starting in the greenhouse, here’s my first hot pepper.  It’s the only one growing on the plant.  The plant looks very healthy, except it’s not growing much.  No other flowers on it.  And it has these little white bugs or whatever they are on the leaves.  They don’t seem to actually be harming it, but I don’t really know?  They are on all three pepper plants in the trough.  Any ideas?  I can’t wait until this hot pepper starts turning colors.

IMG_2609

Here’s a farther out view of the trough.  I did so much research before planting, finding out what plants were good to be around each other.  Stupidly, I did not check what shouldn’t be planted near each other.  So I have dill and cilantro right next to each other, and they are leggy and ginormous and seeding already.  They are closely related and will cross-pollinate, making each other taste weird.  So I am moving one or both of them today, and hoping they do alright.  Then trimming them down and hoping they bush out a lot more.  I planted one lettuce plant in the trough to see how it did in the greenhouse.  And it got eaten.  I think possibly by a deer…I left my palate gate open one night, saw deer scat the next day in the yard and the lettuce was chewed up.  I’m a deducing machine.

IMG_2610

My tomato wasn’t doing well for awhile, and then started to take off.  The only difference is that I am pulling off suckers and putting about a tablespoon of coffee grounds around the bottom every week.  Yay!  Here’s to lots of yummy tomatoes, I hope!  I can’t remember what variety this is, but I decided it was indeterminate because it’s growing straight up and I do remember that it is supposed to be one of the best, biggest, juiciest tomatoes that grows well here in Oregon.  Can you tell I’ve set my heart on it a bit?

IMG_2611

This is the right side of the greenhouse.  I think there’s one small pepper plant and my cucumber, which is going to be repotted soon, and the rest are all tomatoes.  Not sure why this one is yellowing.  I can’t determine if it needs more water because of the pot size and how fast it drains, or more…..but it’s got a lot of small tomatoes on it and both of my potted tomatoes in the greenhouse seem to be determinate.  They were given to me, so I don’t know what kind they are.

IMG_2612

My good friend Jenn gave me a spaghetti squash plant!  It’s not doing so well…definitely needs to be repotted.  Doing that today.  I’m hoping I can get it to grow well and get a squash or two out of it!  Behind it is my other determinate tomato.  It’s huge and has a ton of baby tomatoes on it.  Can’t wait for them to grow!

IMG_2613

Here’s a view of the greenhouse.  You can see how super tall my dill and cilantro has grown.  Bad herbs!

IMG_2614

Here’s the front.  I keep wanting to put more in here, but there’s no room.  Everything seems to be doing well, although my red rosie basil bit the dust.  I tried to save it by moving it to the greenhouse but it died still.  Sadness.  The lettuce LOVES it here.  The two large ones I got from our pastors, and the small one is one we got as a live lettuce from the store, ate the leaves and planted the roots.  Growing well!  I planted some flowers around the veggies.  Chives are just hanging out, not growing much.  The pepper is growing a lot lately, but might not produce because it’s July already.  I’ve planted 3 or 4 onions….ones we got from the farmers markets and cut off the bottoms, soaked overnight, and planted.  One is popping up.  Not sure if any of the others will, but a fun experiment.  Oregano is doing well and I like that it doesn’t get more sun, because it isn’t taking over, but it’s still healthy.  This spot gets about 4-6 hours of mid day sun.

IMG_2615

This is my lemon box.  Lemon verbena, lemon balm, and lemon thyme with some lobelia and alyssum for the prettiness.  This is a pretty sunny spot, but it also gets wind if it’s windy.  Mostly, it’s just been cool and cloudy since I moved this from the greenhouse out here.  They definitely did better in the greenhouse, but I wanted some plants on my deck and I put lemon balm in my water a lot.

IMG_2616

I also moved this cherry tomato plant we got at the Wednesday farmers market outside.  It was the only one that wasn’t tied up, and I wanted to experiment to see how it did outside.  It’s a little protected from the random tree/bush that is growing behind it, and it still gets lots of afternoon sun.  There’s a basil plant there too that is healthy looking, but not growing much.  I’m even pruning it, which supposedly mades giant basil plants.  I read somewhere online that basil makes tomatoes taste better.  Another experiment.  The tomato plant is indeterminate, and I’ve been pulling suckers on this one too.  It’s taken off like crazy since I started doing it!  Lots of flowers.

IMG_2617

On the side of the house, a very sunny spot, we have lavender, chocolate mint, lobelia and asylum, and sage.  The chocolate mint does not like it here but  I don’t want to move it, I don’t think it could take it.  The lavender and sage love it here.  Can’t wait to have a huge lavender plant, and I’m going to plant rosemary on the other side of it once I get it cleared.  The soil here is only ok, and there are a lot of slugs.  They ate the marigold I planted.  I think it was them anyway.  There are also gophers in this bed….they come up from the ground right into the bed.  They overturned some of the plants, and I wonder if they messed with the mint’s roots.  Never had a snail problem in Nebraska, and definitely no gophers!  Further proof that I’m in a weird parallel dimension.  Everything is the same, but slightly different. 😉

IMG_2618

So there’s the updated garden.  I’ve found myself frustrated at some of these plants…and because of the critters, but mostly, it’s so rewarding to grow our own food, and I wish we had a large area to grow outside.  That’s in our plans for the future, whether or not we stay here.  Although I do think we have a great area for it here.  We want to start seeding a bit this month too, and we’ve never done that, so we’ll be posting our trials and probably massive errors.

3 thoughts on “Grow grow grow……please?

  1. Simple Northern Life

    I am jealous I am unable to garden this year but hope to have a container garden next spring in our new little home. Your blog is delightful and so I look forward to following. Thank you for sharing, Allie.

    Reply
      1. Mark Dommel

        Katie! I’m excited to see what’s going with the greenhouse and all the gardening you’ve done!! I’m glad you finally got a chance to be a gardener again!! Enjoy!! Enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

