visitations // part one

I can’t really process the last two weeks, so instead I’m just going to blog.

After four days of traveling through the plains, the sandhills, the Rockies, Grand Tetons, Yellowstone, desert, high desert, the Cascades, and the Coastal mountains….they finally got here.  My mom and stepdad, the first to come visit us in Oregon.  Hopefully the first of many trips for them, and the first of many friends and family.  We’ve made it both hard and easy…we live in one of the most amazingly beautiful places in the country, but it’s also remote and takes quite an effort to get to.

Southern Oregon

Crater Lake on their way to Brookings

They arrived around 2 and we said our joyful hellos, a little incredulous that they were actually here.  We got in the car so I could show them around Brookings, had some dinner, and then they headed to the Bluff House where they stayed for half of their time here.  I felt so full.  I wanted to show them so much, and impress them with the magnitude of awesome things in the area.  Because there are a lot…I don’t even know that much!

Katie Dommel

all decked out walking to the store

IMG_2642

showing their booty…bags full of toys from the money that Gigi sent

The next day, Jon was off of work, and we started the morning with Bible study with some ladies from The Rock, then all piled into the car and went to Harris Beach.  It was a beautiful day, but not quite sunny.  There was a marine layer hanging about, above our heads and just offshore.  It made everything ethereal, as though we were in a different world where the sky moved like smoke.  It was beautiful.

Harris Beach State Park, Brookings, Oregon

Heading to the water

E has to be watched like a hawk at the beach because he just wants to run headlong into the crashing waves.  Hasn’t gotten a mouthful of water yet, and hasn’t had a close call to scare him off.  Craig and Jon had their hands full.

IMG_2706

C and her daddy

IMG_2646

Grampa and E

IMG_2718

Jon and the kids

C, on the other hand, is obsessed with the sand.  Especially if it’s warm.  She lies down and swims in it.

Me and C after I got her up off her belly

Me and C after I got her up off her belly

We were all hungry afterwards, so we went out for pizza at Zola’s Pizzeria.  And wow, it was amazingly delicious!  Sitting on a picnic table outside the pizzeria right on the boardwalk…bliss.  I tried to soak it all up, the feelings and the joy…but it’s already hard to grasp and remember it all.

This was only the first two days, but it’s about all I want to relive right now.  It’s hard for me because I lived within an hour of my mom my entire life.  Really, I was always that close to most of my extended family.  On top of that, we spent a majority of the last year living with Jon’s parents, and so being here, 2,000 miles away from any of them….well, it’s different.  And it’s hard.  But it’s not too hard.

Having this visit from my mom and Craig was wonderful.  I can’t wait for more.  A few days in, I remember thinking, this isn’t flying by.  This isn’t going too fast.  I’m taking it all in, and I’m so grateful for it.  But then, the last few days did fly by, and now it feels like a dream, even though I just said goodbye two days ago.

Leave a Reply

