Unschool // Houseschool // Homeschool

Huh?  Yeah.  Apparently, there are a million ways to homeschool your children.  And it’s confusing, because each one is like a different community with different beliefs on how to do it the “right” way.

Jon and I have decided to homeschool our kids.  It wasn’t an easy decision.  It’s something that I always thought I’d be good at, and that I would love my kids to get to have that.  There is a big homeschool group here, and they are active.  They have get togethers.  I think there are over 60 people in it, each with kids.  So pretty big.  But.  The challenge of it seemed overwhelming.  I’ve been saying for awhile that I am not made to be a stay at home mom.  I have tried so many things, wanted so badly to work from home.  After moving here, I have tried to rebuild my photography business, to no avail.  There’s just a very small market on the coast and over saturation everywhere else in Oregon.  Not that it is impossible.  It’s just a competition that I’m not that interested in.  I’ve never been a business-minded person.  I’d much rather use my creative skills to further God’s Kingdom.  To increase awareness for missionaries and causes that have that same aim.

While that stews in me, Charlie is ready for pre-school.  And she is really smart.  In fact, Emry is probably ready for a little pre-preschool as well.

Planning is easy.  I really enjoy the organizing and planning stages.  Love it.  And God is changing me.  I am enjoying my days with my kids a lot more, even though I have less actual work to do.  I have a job, I am the worship pastor.  I do have duties to do throughout the week for it, and it is very fulfilling.  For now, it is a part-time commitment.  Unlike Jon, who is working two full-time jobs (our positions at the church are missional at this time).  Eventually, I’d love to see a more formal group be developed.  A homeschool cooperative that keeps it Christ-centered, but doesn’t take away from the home teaching.

It’s amazing how fast children change.  It seems like they stay the same for awhile, and then, when you’re not looking, they quickly morph.  They become butterflies, and you missed the cocoon.  They flutter around in a new kind of beauty, and it’s fascinating.

Starting in September, Charlie will begin school.

Now we just have to get the teacher grandparents out here to help!  Granny for math and science and Nana for English and Grampa Craig for nature walks and theology and more science and Poppy for playing and learning about who God is, faith, and joy.  Consider this your official job offer!  Ha!

Prayer Requests:

  • Funds for school supplies
  • Fall clothes for the kids, especially long-sleeve shirts for both and jeans for E (he’s finally growing like a weed!)
  • Additional income through lessons and photography
  • Emry now has RLS symptoms and his reactions to soy and dairy have been a lot more severe
  • Phyiscally, Jon’s been worn down and sick and stressed, but in good spirits
  • Our church would continue to grow and we need a building

 

And some praises too!  We are so blessed here!  Our church family is wonderful and supportive.  We are all pretty healthy, especially in comparison to the past couple of years.  We know without a doubt we are where God wants us, and are lives are filled with a deep peace because of that.  Even when storms rage, the peace is inside.  Spiritually, we are being fed and growing as well.  We love our pastors.  And God is so good.  So very good.

godisgood

 

5 responses to “Unschool // Houseschool // Homeschool”

  1. I’ll be praying for the new adventure and am seriously considering the job offer!!

  2. Best wishes on your coming year. We will most definitely keep your family in prayer. 🙂

  3. Good luck! I also had a lucrative photography business that I let go so I could focus more on what I believed was most important…and turned out to be more fulfilling and a greater passion than photography. I’m eager to see how things work out for you–keep us updated!

    1. It’s hard to let go of something you love doing, but when your life is centered around the right things, it all starts to make sense. Love that. I know what you mean about a greater passion…just starting to understand it. And it took me taking baby steps forward to get that perspective, or at least start to. Thanks for reading, I’ll definitely be posting more!

Leave a comment