I Want Something Better!

Galatians 4:8-9

Paul says, “Formerly, when you did not know God, you were enslaved to those that by nature are not gods.  But now that you have come to know God, or rather to be known by God, how can you turn your back again to the weak and worthless elementary principles of the world, whose slaves you want to be once more?”

Wow.  How many times have I turned my back on being known, on being whole, and given in to temptations?  To want I wanted in the moment, rather than what I want eternally?  How could I ever let the temporary outweigh the eternal?

When images and smells and tastes and feelings slam into me all day long, day after day, week after week, it’s hard to remind myself of who God is and that there is something more, something better out there.

But I do know when it happens.  It’s when I let those things that are from this world take the place of Kingship in my heart and my mind.  Like the game of King-of-the-hill, where one thing will be on top of the hill until another slams it down and overthrows it, my heart because a game-piece.  My mind becomes a war-zone.

It happens when I am not in God’s living Word everyday, seeing the ways that he is speaking to me.  Wen I stop believing, even for a moment, that he is everything and he is alive and always good.  When I stop trusting that he wants the best for me, and that his Word is full of his breath, and that he protects it and always will.  When I push the knowledge of being known out of the way, and stop remembering that I don’t have to do anything more than long for the lover of my soul.

When I choose slavery over freedom simply because I can.  When I choose temporary pleasure that leads to guilt and pain, instead of heavenly joy.  When I do that, I am turning my back again to the weak and worthless world.

It is so important to stay vigilant.  It is so vital to put on my armor everyday and not let myself forget that I am battling, every single hour, for my King.  And that I have His authority and power, as an heir to His Kingdom, and a Helper by my side to fight.  To press on.  To run that race with absolutely everything I have in me so that my Father in heaven says, “well done, daughter, well done.”

In moments like these, where I see how easily I can slip from living for Christ to living for myself, I want to just scream and shout to the God that cares!  Cry out to him and say, “My soul yearns for you in the night; my spirit within me earnestly seeks you!” (Is. 26:9)

“And you shall love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind and with all your strength!” Mark 12:30

But seek first the kingdom of God and his righteousness, and all these things will be added to you.” Matt. 6:33

Only you, God, can satisfy me.  My soul clings to you!

Brush Lettering Gold Foil Fight the apathy

My Soul Thirsts for You

A Psalm of David, when he was in the wilderness of Judah.

63 O God, you are my God; earnestly I seek you;
    my soul thirsts for you;
my flesh faints for you,
    as in a dry and weary land where there is no water.
So I have looked upon you in the sanctuary,
    beholding your power and glory.
Because your steadfast love is better than life,
    my lips will praise you.
So I will bless you as long as I live;
    in your name I will lift up my hands.

My soul will be satisfied as with fat and rich food,
    and my mouth will praise you with joyful lips,
when I remember you upon my bed,
    and meditate on you in the watches of the night;
for you have been my help,
    and in the shadow of your wings I will sing for joy.
My soul clings to you;
    your right hand upholds me.

But those who seek to destroy my life
    shall go down into the depths of the earth;
10 they shall be given over to the power of the sword;
    they shall be a portion for jackals.
11 But the king shall rejoice in God;
    all who swear by him shall exult,
    for the mouths of liars will be stopped.

Leave a comment